RH0005 The Dark Country




The Dark Country

By Dennis Etchison

Etchison’s fiction is justly famous for its creepy ambience, and explores the terrain mapped out by Philip K. Dick, Thomas Harris, and any number of black and white horror movies. This is his legendary first collection, carefully corrected by the author for this new edition. The title story won both the World Fantasy Award and the British Fantasy Award in 1982, the first time a single work received both major awards. Contents include 15 ground-breaking stories and an introduction by Ramsey Campbell.

Contents of this collection:
It Only Comes Out at Night
Sitting in the Corner, Whimpering Quietly
The Walking Man
We Have All Been Here Before
Daughter of the Golden West
The Pitch
You Can Go Now
Today’s Special
The Machine Demands a Sacrifice
Calling All Monsters
The Dead Line
The Late Shift
The Nighthawk
It Will Be Here Soon
The Dark Country

“Dennis Etchison is one hell of a fiction writer, and if you have not read his volume of stories The Dark Country, you have missed one of the great volumes in our peculiar field. The stories are not just good; they are without exception exciting, and in some cases genuinely great.” –Stephen King

“The finest writer of psychological horror this genre has produced.” –Karl Edward Wagner

“The best short story writer in the field today, bar none.” –Charles L. Grant

“Dennis Etchison is the finest writer of short stories working in this field, and the rest of us ought to learn from him.” –Ramsey Campbell

“The most original living horror writer in America.” –The Viking-Penguin Encyclopedia

Additional information


, , , ,


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “RH0005 The Dark Country”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.